Student Osteopathic Medical Association (SOMA) - Middletown

The purpose of the Student Osteopathic Medical Association, the only student affiliate organization of the American Osteopathic Association, is to promote Osteopathic ideals and unity within the profession, to educate future Osteopathic Physicians, and to establish and maintain lines of communication among healthcare professionals in an ongoing effort to improve the quality of healthcare.

At the Touro-Middletown chapter, we have six committees for you to join, each with their own activities: Community Outreach, Cultural and Health Disparities, Political Affairs, Research, Pre-SOMA, and Professional Development. Members who join in the fall will receive a free Thieme Anatomy Atlas and all members can apply for scholarships through the SOMA Foundation in the Fall and Spring. Benefits also include steep discounts on many board prep resources. Some of our big events include D.O. Day on Capitol Hill, Physician Advocacy Day in Albany, Pancakes for Parkinsons, SOMA Slushie Shack, Wear Red Day, and we have many more events coming your way!

SOMA continues to have the highest active membership of any Student Organization at TouroCOM. Being the ONLY Student Affiliate of the American Osteopathic Association, SOMA members receive amazing benefits that allows membership fees to pay for themselves.

SOMA is committed to representing all Osteopathic students on political affairs, residency placement, public health, research, community service, professional development, and minority affairs by providing a direct partnership with the AOA, granting scholarships and member benefits, and engaging in various projects to promote Osteopathic values throughout the community.

Executive Board

Faculty Advisor - Dr. Stephanie Zeszutek
President - Natasha Wu
Vice President - Hsin Li
Treasurer - Yinglin Gao
NLO - Luke O'Connor
Secretary - Lauren Roach
Community Outreach Director - Pooja Sarkar
Cultural and Health Disparities Director - Nasir Malim
Political Affairs Director - Johanna Zambrano
Research Director - Amir Olfat
Pre-SOMA Director - Sara Brescia
Professional Development Director - Thomas Maloney
Convention Director - Kevin Yiu